Bonnie Raitt and Friends concert to be released in CD/DVD

Judging from her two live releases, this and 1995’s Road Tested, everyone’s favorite slide-guitar-playing, rootsy redhead loves working with other musicians. Generally known for raising the visibility of older blues and R&B legends such as Ruth Brown and Charles Brown, she invites more contemporary stars Ben Harper, Norah Jones, Keb’ Mo’, and Alison Krauss along for this set. Recorded during a September 2005 evening, this slick CD/DVD package catches Raitt and her muscular four-piece on tour supporting Souls Alike. Perhaps not surprisingly, the setlist is heavily weighted to that album, with nearly half the selections drawn from the disc. Although those songs are well played, they don’t differ markedly from the studio versions. It would have been more interesting to cherry-pick older, more obscure material from Raitt’s extensive career. Regardless, the duets work well in a restrained VH1 way, with Harper the highlight as he lays into the gospel “Well, Well, Well” and the double-barreled slide showcase “Two Lights in the Nighttime.” Raitt’s in fine fettle throughout, slinging stinging slide solos and singing with her usual emotional fervor.

Oddly, the 52-minute CD version of the 17-song, hour-and-a-half video omits the lovely Norah Jones-assisted “Tennessee Waltz” and Alison Krauss’s hoedown on “Papa Come Quick.” The professionally shot DVD expands the sound to surround, but nearly mars the generally fine set with excessive camera movement; garish, obtrusive lighting; and a brash, hyperactive video background that is, at best, distracting–and more often undermines Raitt’s earthy performance and classy collaborations with her band and musically amiable guests. –Hal Horowitz

Less than a year after VH1 Classic debuted “Decades Rock Live!,” the network breaks new ground with the first-ever DVD/CD release from the innovative concert series. VH1 Classic Decades Rock Live! Presents ‘Bonnie Raitt and Friends’ (featuring Norah Jones, Ben Harper, Alison Krauss and Keb’Mo’) will be released by Capitol Records on August 15th for the suggested retail price of $24.98.

This live concert series pairs celebrated artists of rock and rollwith some of today’s hottest recording acts who have been influenced and inspired by these legends. Raitt was among the all-star artist line-up for the first season of “Decades Rock Live!” and the first episode of the series to air on VH1 Classic.

The Decades Rock Live! television series from which the CD/DVD originates is created by Barry Summers, Executive Producer for World Productions, LLC. The CD/DVD is the result of a collaborative effort by World Productions, Capitol Records and Bonnie Raitt with the strong support of VH1 Classic.  Now the nine-time Grammy winner and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee has been selected as the inaugural artist for the companion series of DVD/CD releases.

Bonnie Raitt and Friends, which was recorded live at the Trump Taj Mahal in Atlantic City, NJ on September 30, 2005, will feature never-before-seen performance and interview footage, including four duets not included in the VH1 Classic broadcast of the concert.

With two hours of concert and interview footage, the concert which was filmed in Hi-Definition and is presented in 5.1 audio, features Raitt performing 17 songs with her longtime band – George Marinelli (guitar), James “Hutch” Hutchinson (bass), Ricky Fataar (drums) and Jon Cleary (keyboards).

Included are such classic Raitt hits as “Something To Talk About,” “Love Letter” (with Mo’), “You” (with Krauss) and a knock-out encore of “Love Sneakin’ Up On You” with Raitt, Jones, Harper, Krauss and Mo’ as well as highlights from her latest studio album, Souls Alike, including “I Will Not Be Broken,” “God Was In The Water”, “I Don’t Want Anything To Change” (with Jones) and “Unnecessarily Mercenary” (a duet with keyboardist Cleary, who wrote the song). The accompanying CD features 11 tracks, including the radio single “Two Lights in the Nighttime” (featuring Ben Harper). Full track listings for the DVD and the CD are included below.

‘Souls Alike’ debuted at #19 on the Billboard 200 last September and Raitt has been on the road almost ever since. After a four month theatre tour of the U.S. and five weeks in Europe, she’s back on the road this summer and through the fall with Grammy-winning singer/songwriter/guitarist Keb’Mo’ for another 50 dates.
Visit the singer’s website for tour dates; premium seats and meet-and-greet passes for most shows will be auctioned off for charity at

‘Bonnie Raitt and Friends’ is now available for pre-order at Amazon. As of yet, there is not a release date for the UK. Visit the music database for more information.

DVD track listing:

1. Unnecessarily Mercenary (featuring Jon Cleary)
2.  I Will Not Be Broken
3.  God Was In The Water
4.  Gnawin’ On It
5.  You (featuring Alison Krauss)
6.  Papa Come Quick (featuring Alison Krauss)
7.  No Gettin’ Over You (featuring Keb’ Mo’)
8.  Love Letter (featuring Keb’ Mo’)
9.  Crooked Crown
10.  Trinkets
11.  Two Lights In The Nighttime (featuring Ben Harper)
12.  Well, Well, Well (featuring Ben Harper)
13.  Something To Talk About
14.  Hear Me Lord
15.  I Don’t Want Anything To Change (featuring Norah Jones)
16.  Tennessee Waltz (featuring Norah Jones)
17.  Love Sneakin’ Up On You (featuring All Special Guests)

CD track listing:

1.  Introduction
2. Unnecessarily Mercenary (featuring Jon Cleary)
3.  I Will Not Be Broken
4.  God Was In The Water
5.  Gnawin’ On It
6.  You (featuring Alison Krauss)
7.  Love Letter (featuring Keb’ Mo’)
8.  Two Lights In The Nighttime (featuring Ben Harper)
9.  Well, Well, Well (featuring Ben Harper)
10.  Something To Talk About
11.  I Don’t Want Anything To Change (featuring Norah Jones)
12.  Love Sneakin’ Up On You (featuring All Special Guests)

1 Comment

Comments are closed.